What Famous Italian Wines Can You Buy Today?

Would you like to sample some of the greatest red wines from Italy’s specialties? Do you have no idea which wines to pick from since you’ve only scratched the surface of the wine world? There are so many different types of wines created and sold in this immensely expanding world of wine that it might be difficult to pick something that precisely suits your tastes.

Today’s article will look at our gathered list of superb red wines, which may be the ones you’ve been hunting for everywhere. Whether it’s for a special event, a celebration, or just a casual drink, we’ve got you covered. Without further ado, let us go right into this subject!

1. Barolo

You might have witnessed this red wine type everywhere. Well, we do not blame you as not mentioning it will do it injustice entirely. It is classified as a DOCG (i.e., categorized as the topmost quality in Italy) red wine produced in the northern region of Piedmont. Made from the Nebbiolo grape variety, there is a reason why Barolo is often called the “King of Wines.”

The aging potential displayed by the Nebbiolo grape is remarkable; whether it is the following year, five years, ten, or even thirty years, this grape will never lose the charm of its flavor and will get even better as the years pass on. Barolo truly displays the pinnacle of what a glass of red wine can do. It is the perfect ideal wine to pair with any finest of dishes and any type of event.

2. Brunello

Brunello di Montalcino (or simply Brunello) is an Italian red wine made from the grape variant called Sangiovese, which is the most widely planted grape variety in Italy. Its name originated as a form of the derivation of Sangiovese’s local name (Brunello) and Montalcino, a small town containing the vineyards of Brunello. This town is located 80 kilometers away from the south of Florence in the province of Siena. Brunello has a diverse and complex wine aging process.

Moreover, it has a remarkably high aging potential and can be as old as 30 years. With its intense aroma and breathtaking harmonious flavor, it stands at the very apex potential of the true capabilities of the Sangiovese grape. There is no better food than having a red wine bottle and hot pappardelle pasta.

3. Lambrusco

Lambrusco is a frizzled DOC red wine, and it is named after the grape that produces this wine. Its winemaking history has roots from early as Etruscans, which were part of the present-day Po Valley and Emilia-Romagna. Lambrusco was highly valued for its productivity and high yields during Roman Era. This wine is known for its unique and predominantly sparkling red color and lovely bitterness, making it a perfect drink for any hot summer day. Lambrusco has some distinctively different properties from any regular sparkling wine.

Most of these wines are usually white in color, while Lambrusco shines with a ruby red with intense purple or pink nuances mixed. Furthermore, it has less aging time, so it is drunk primarily while still fresh. I would give this wine a recommendation for any regular get-to-go routine!

4. Dolcetto

Dolcetto is an Italian black grape variety that is mainly grown in the Piedmont region of northwest Italy. The word “Dolcetto” roughly translates to “little sweet one,” but it is not entirely clear if the name bears any reference to its sweetness levels. The Dolcetto variety is used to produce dry, medium-bodied red wines, and with its acidity well-balanced, or decidedly low levels, they come off with a crystal-deep ruby color.

The wine may usually vary from soft and fruity to more intense and powerful expressions. The flavors and aromas sweetly blend in with other berries, plums, and violets. These wines are usually best consumed when they are fresh to 3-5 years of age.

5. Corvina

Corvina is an Italian red grape variety, which is sometimes called Corvina Veronese or Cruina. It is mainly grown in the Veneto region of northern Italy, and some of the hectares are contained in Argentina. The thick-skinned red grape and several other grapes are used to blend and make some DOC red regional wines, such as Bardolino and Valpolicella. The dried grapes of Corvina are also used in the production of Amarone and dessert wine Recioto. Corvina grapes mainly produce light to medium body wines with light crimson coloring, bright high acidity, floral and sour-cherry aromas, and mild fruity flavor with hints of almond.

6. Chianti

Chianti is any wine blend that is produced in the region of the same name (i.e., Chianti) in central Tuscany, Italy. It was primarily known for its packaging associated with a squat bottle enclosed in a straw basket called a fiasco. However, it mostly comes bottled in standard wine bottle shapes nowadays. Paired and made with a dominating amount of 70% Sangiovese grapes, the wine is made almost anywhere in the Tuscany region, with the entire area divided into seven sub-zones.

The reason for the very high-value blending of Sangiovese grapes might be due to Baron Bettino Ricasoli (later Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Italy) helping establish Sangiovese as the blend’s dominant variety. Consequently, it created the blueprint for most of today’s Chianti wines. Chianti’s dry, ruby-red wines have been notoriously praised for their lovely delicate aroma, primarily well versed in flavors like red cherry fruit, floral-herbal nuances, and light nutty notes. Nonetheless, the wines of Chianti, ranging from light to full-bodied, can be mostly paired and enjoyed together with many wine-friendly delicacies and dishes. Thus, having a taste of Chianti wines is a necessity during any casual food dining!

Want to learn more about Italian wines? Try out these books!

Italian Wines, What Famous Italian Wines Can You Buy Today?Italian Wines, What Famous Italian Wines Can You Buy Today?Italian Wines, What Famous Italian Wines Can You Buy Today?Italian Wines, What Famous Italian Wines Can You Buy Today?

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!